The Bizzare and the Beautiful

On very rare occasions a muse takes a physical form. In this instance, I was making a batch of beer waffles, when she decided to incarnate herself as a layer of congealed fat.  You see, I added melted butter to cold beer, and sure enough exactly what my high-school level knowledge of physics said should happen  happened; I got a layer of butter fat floating on top of some slightly warmer beer.

I tasted it.

It was beautiful.

My theory is that the butter fat solids had separated out, and when they re-solidified the water that was trapped was contained beer flavor compounds (I have nothing to base that on, but seems right to me).

So, of course I spent the next several days trying to figure out a use for this “beer butter. ” The short list includes: compound butter for steaks, stout flavored butter cream frosting, and a great spread for grilled bread.

I had the opportunity to test the last one first, with a few augmentations.
Note: I used a whole beer because I was going to use it in a sauce later, you could just as easily use some smaller quantity.

12 oz. cold milk stout

1/2 Stick butter

1 Tbsp bacon grease

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 loaf good crusty bread, cut into slices.

Melt butter and bacon grease and dump into beer.

Stick mixture in fridge for 30. min until a layer of grease has solidified on top, remove grease from beer.

Add garlic powder to grease, and whisk until creamy

Spread mixture on bread, place butter up on a grill until bottom is brown and grease is melted (2-3 min) then flip and leave for additional 1-2 min.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Bizzare and the Beautiful

  1. Blouise

    Dropped in to say hi and to bookmark.

  2. The Three B’s in this case aren’t Brahms, Bach and Beethoven, but rather Beer, Bacon and Butter. How can you go wrong with that? I say nay, tis impossible. And somewhere in the distance, a cardiologist’s head explodes.

Leave a Reply

