The Beer I Had For Breakfast (wasn’t bad)

Now, I’ll be the first to admit: When I’m making breakfast I generally skip over the shelf of my fridge dedicated to holding beer. However, I love waffles. Especially Sourdough waffles. What I don’t like nearly as much is remembering to feed the sourdough the night before I want the waffles. These are (at least in my opinion) a good standby option for those days when my (or in all honesty,  most likely my wife’s) ambition is greater in the morning than my memory was the night before. This is my adaptation of a recipe in The Bread Bible by Beth Hensperger.  According to her, the use of beer in pancakes was pretty common in pioneer cookbooks.

Apologies to those of you without waffle irons, my suggestion is get married and put one on your registry.

Notes:

I’d try and stay with sweeter beers for this, a good English Brown (particularly New Castle) or perhaps a good wheat beer might be the way to go (although I imagine you’d loose quite a bit of the clove\banana phenols)  Also, feel free to substitute in a cup or so of whole-wheat flour if you’re so inclined.

I have no idea how many waffles this will make you, it’s entirely dependent on the size of your waffle iron, this makes us about 8 cups of batter.

I’ve found the best method for keeping the waffles warm is to stick them in an oven on the lowest temperature setting directly on the rack.

Beer Waffles

3 C unbleached flour.

1/4 C dark brown sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 12 oz. beers

1/4 C milk

2 eggs

8 Tbsps (one stick) melted butter

1 Tbsp lemon juice

4 tsp vanilla extract

Mix together dry ingredients and, in another bowl, the liquids.  Let sit in fridge anywhere from 30 min. to over night.

Preheat waffle iron to medium-high (or whatever the manufacturer says to do), spray it with veggie\canola oil spray, or brush on butter or cooking oil. Cook for 4-5 or until that ubiquitous and yummy state known as “Golden Brown” is reached.

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food, History

5 responses to “The Beer I Had For Breakfast (wasn’t bad)

  1. Buddha Is Laughing

    You can guarantee I’ll be trying this one out. I make waffles about one a month and have a killer waffle iron. Belgian style and it weighs a ton. Gets nice and hot. Plus, I know for a fact I can get New Castle around here.

    Also, I may have a lead on where to get the best beer selection around here. I overheard some guys over by the grocery store beer cabinet talking about a liquor store downtown. I’m doing some recon tomorrow. I’ll let you know if I’ve found beer salvation in this wilderness. :mrgreen:

    • I probably don’t even need to mention this, but if you have the option, get the cans of Newcastle. Clear bottles are a good way to guarantee skunked beer. Green bottles and the fake brown (I see mostly German beers in the fake brown), aren’t much better.

      Happy hunting.

  2. Buddha Is Laughing

    I’m not sure what you mean by “fake brown”. I mean, brown in brown, isn’t it? The physics of light absorption should still work the same (i.e. everything but the brown wavelengths gets through). Is it a matter of translucency/optical density of the glass?

    • Cheap brown is probably a better description than fake brown. It’s generally a lighter color brown glass. I don’t remember for sure, but I think Spaten uses it. I generally only notice when I check for it.

      Skunky beer is usually caused by U.V. interacting with chemicals from the hops. The darker brown absorbs more of the U.V. light, so will keep your beer from skunking as quickly . It can still happen, just not nearly as fast (it takes something like 3 min. of direct sunlight to skunk a light beer in a clear bottle).

  3. Pingback: The Bizzare and the Beautiful | Dancing With John Barley Corn

Leave a Reply

